Miracle Mile - Bicycle Thieves

Artist: Miracle Mile
Song: Bicycle Thieves
Album: Bicycle Thieves (1997)

This British group is primarily the genesis of singer-songwriter Trevor Jones. In the mid-nineties, after working with co-producer Steve Davis,
Miracle Mile self-released its debut album Bicycle Theives in 1997. The duo added Les Nemes on bass, Trevor Smith on drums and Phil Smith on saxophone and keyboards. Mark Hornby would replace Phil Smith on the ensuing tour. Touring throughout Britain ensued with enthusiastic reviews for the contemporary pop sound in the vein of Beautiful South and Crowded House. The following year saw more touring and the release of Candids in 1998. But by that time Trevor Jones had grown weary of touring and opted instead for more studio work. Continuing work in 1999 on new songs, but Steve Davis departed the band citing time constraints and family priorities. Replaced by Marcus Cliffe, Miracle Mile released Slow Fade on MeMe Records in 2001. The album was noted for its simpler and more intimate sound, with good reviews in British music magazines and weeklies such as Mojo and Time Out. In the summer of 2001, the group returned to the studio for work on another album. Inspired by the Daniel Lanois album Acadie, the album took a slight country sound in its framework. In the spring of 2003, the group released Alaska on MeMe Records. The group contemplated doing live shows after Cliffe's tour with Mark Knopfler was cancelled due to the guitarist's motorcycle accident. ~ Jason MacNeil, All Music Guide


No comments: